II B.s. - Charles Mingus - Mingus Mingus Mingus Mingus Mingus

Categories : albums Charles Mingus albums Impulse! Records albums Albums produced by Bob Thiele. Hidden categories: Articles with short description Articles with hAudio microformats. Namespaces Article Talk. Views Read Edit View history. By using this site, you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. Steve Hoffman Music Forums. Location: New York City.

Could not find the answer in a web search, believe it or not. On Mingus' album for Impulse! Anyone know the story of the title change, and what the title means? Like Ellington, Mingus wrote songs with specific musicians in mind, and his band for Erectus included adventurous musicians: piano player Mal Waldron , alto saxophonist Jackie McLean and the Sonny Rollins -influenced tenor of J. The title song is a ten-minute tone poem , depicting the rise of man from his hominid roots Pithecanthropus erectus to an eventual downfall.

A section of the piece was free improvisation , free of structure or theme. Another album from this period, The Clown also on Atlantic Records , the title track of which features narration by humorist Jean Shepherd , was the first to feature drummer Dannie Richmond , who remained his preferred drummer until Mingus's death in The two men formed one of the most impressive and versatile rhythm sections in jazz.

Both were accomplished performers seeking to stretch the boundaries of their music while staying true to its roots. In Mingus and his jazz workshop musicians recorded one of his best-known albums, Mingus Ah Um. As Mingus explained in his liner notes: "I was born swinging and clapped my hands in church as a little boy, but I've grown up and I like to do things other than just swing.

But blues can do more than just swing. He initially expressed rather mixed feelings for Coleman's innovative music: " Most of the time they use their fingers on the saxophone and they don't even know what's going to come out. They're experimenting. This ensemble featured the same instruments as Coleman's quartet, and is often regarded as Mingus rising to the challenging new standard established by Coleman.

The former also features the version of "Fables of Faubus" with lyrics, aptly titled "Original Faubus Fables". With an ambitious program, the event was plagued with troubles from its inception. In , Mingus released The Black Saint and the Sinner Lady , described as "one of the greatest achievements in orchestration by any composer in jazz history. Edmund Pollock, to provide notes for the record. Mingus also released Mingus Plays Piano , an unaccompanied album featuring some fully improvised pieces, in The group was recorded frequently during its short existence; Coles fell ill and left during a European tour.

Dolphy stayed in Europe after the tour ended, and died suddenly in Berlin on June 28, The couple were married in by Allen Ginsberg. Mingus's pace slowed somewhat in the late s and early s. They recorded two well-received albums, Changes One and Changes Two. Mingus also played with Charles McPherson in many of his groups during this time. Cumbia and Jazz Fusion in sought to blend Colombian music the " Cumbia " of the title with more traditional jazz forms.

By the mids, Mingus was suffering from amyotrophic lateral sclerosis ALS. His once formidable bass technique declined until he could no longer play the instrument. He continued composing, however, and supervised a number of recordings before his death.

At the time of his death, he was working with Joni Mitchell on an album eventually titled Mingus , which included lyrics added by Mitchell to his compositions, including " Goodbye Pork Pie Hat ". The album featured the talents of Wayne Shorter , Herbie Hancock , and another influential bassist and composer, Jaco Pastorius.

Mingus died, aged 56, in Cuernavaca , Mexico , where he had traveled for treatment and convalescence. His ashes were scattered in the Ganges River. His compositions retained the hot and soulful feel of hard bop , drawing heavily from black gospel music and blues , while sometimes containing elements of Third Stream , free jazz , and classical music.

He once cited Duke Ellington and church as his main influences. Mingus espoused collective improvisation, similar to the old New Orleans jazz parades, paying particular attention to how each band member interacted with the group as a whole.

In creating his bands, he looked not only at the skills of the available musicians, but also their personalities. Many musicians passed through his bands and later went on to impressive careers.

He recruited talented and sometimes little-known artists, whom he utilized to assemble unconventional instrumental configurations. As a performer, Mingus was a pioneer in double bass technique, widely recognized as one of the instrument's most proficient players. Because of his brilliant writing for midsize ensembles, and his catering to and emphasizing the strengths of the musicians in his groups, Mingus is often considered the heir of Duke Ellington , for whom he expressed great admiration and collaborated on the record Money Jungle.

Indeed, Dizzy Gillespie had once claimed Mingus reminded him "of a young Duke", citing their shared "organizational genius. Nearly as well known as his ambitious music was Mingus's often fearsome temperament, which earned him the nickname "The Angry Man of Jazz". His refusal to compromise his musical integrity led to many onstage eruptions, exhortations to musicians, and dismissals.

When confronted with a nightclub audience talking and clinking ice in their glasses while he performed, Mingus stopped his band and loudly chastised the audience, stating: " Isaac Stern doesn't have to put up with this shit. Guitarist and singer Jackie Paris was a first-hand witness to Mingus's irascibility.

Paris recalls his time in the Jazz Workshop: "He chased everybody off the stand except [drummer] Paul Motian and me Tuesday 6 August Wednesday 7 August Thursday 8 August Friday 9 August Saturday 10 August Sunday 11 August Monday 12 August Tuesday 13 August Wednesday 14 August Thursday 15 August Friday 16 August Saturday 17 August Sunday 18 August Monday 19 August Tuesday 20 August Wednesday 21 August Thursday 22 August Friday 23 August Saturday 24 August Sunday 25 August Monday 26 August Tuesday 27 August Wednesday 28 August Thursday 29 August Friday 30 August Saturday 31 August Sunday 1 September Monday 2 September Tuesday 3 September Wednesday 4 September Thursday 5 September Friday 6 September Saturday 7 September Sunday 8 September Monday 9 September Tuesday 10 September Wednesday 11 September Thursday 12 September Friday 13 September Saturday 14 September Sunday 15 September Monday 16 September Tuesday 17 September Wednesday 18 September Thursday 19 September Friday 20 September Saturday 21 September Sunday 22 September Monday 23 September Tuesday 24 September Wednesday 25 September Thursday 26 September Friday 27 September Saturday 28 September Sunday 29 September

Song information for II B.S. - Charles Mingus on AllMusic.

6 thoughts on “II B.s. - Charles Mingus - Mingus Mingus Mingus Mingus Mingus

  1. Dec 18,  · Discover releases, reviews, credits, songs, and more about Mingus* - Mingus Mingus Mingus Mingus Mingus at Discogs. Complete your Mingus* collection/5().
  2. Charles Mingus Jr. (April 22, – January 5, ) was an American jazz double bassist, pianist, composer and bandleader. A major proponent of collective improvisation, he is considered to be one of the greatest jazz musicians and composers in history, with a career spanning three decades and collaborations with other jazz legends such as.
  3. II B.S. Lyrics: Rerecorded version of Haitian Fight Song. This is the 1st track of the Mingus Mingus Mingus Mingus Mingus album.
  4. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Vinyl release of Mingus In Europe Volume II on Discogs.5/5(1).
  5. 's "Mingus Mingus Mingus Mingus Mingus" is an anomoly in Charles Mingus' catalog-- the last time he'd enter the studio for nearly eight years, it serves of sorts as a bookend to the period of , wherein Mingus recorded masterpiece after masterpiece-- "Pithecanthropus Erectus" for Atlantic, "Tijuana Moods for RCA, "Mingus Ah Um" for Columbia, "Pre-Bird" for Mercury, "Charles Mingus /5(30).
  6. Check out II B.S. (Edit) by Charles Mingus on Amazon Music. Stream ad-free or purchase CD's and MP3s now on reggae.shakalkreemalaramaralsarana.infoinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *