I. Allegro Moderato - Kyung-Wha Chung - Tchaïkovsky / Mendelssohn Violin Concertos

Andante track 2. Allegro vivacissimo track 2. Allegro molto appassionato track 3. Andante track 3. Allegretto non troppo — Allegro molto vivace track 4. United States Genres classical. Violin Concerto in D major, op. Format: Audio CD. There isn't any doubt that Chung's rendition of Tchaikovsky violin concerto as recorded here with Charles Dutoit is the all time high of this timeless masterpiece.

Actually I attended a live concert of Chung playing the same in mid 's. I thought she was overly emotional, and the concert was so so. I was probably wrong. A decade later, with a much better understanding of classical music, I was looking for a real gem of this piece, I had no doubt this is IT, not Heifetz. For me, when it comes to Tchaikovsky violin, it's Chung's. Tchaikovsky piece only. Mendelssohn not playe. Kyung played at Royce Hall, UCLA; and the student advisor was my sailing partner at UCLA; she asked me to wear a 3 piece suit and present Kyung roses as she thought it 'd be great to have a guy present the woman artist with the roses; I did after her brilliant live performance of this "unplayable" piece; it was brilliant and I got my chance to present the red roses to the artist, at the end of her performance of this pyrotechnical piece.

Any violinist tackling this piece must be at their peak abilities. See all 16 customer reviews. Write a customer review. Pages with related products. See and discover other items: mendelssohn symphonies. There's a problem loading this menu right now. Learn more about Amazon Prime. Get fast, free delivery with Amazon Prime. Back to top. Get to Know Us. Amazon Payment Products.

English Choose a language for shopping. Amazon Music Stream millions of songs. Amazon Advertising Find, attract, and engage customers. Andante 4. Allegretto non troppo - Allegro molto vivace Performers: Kyung Wha Chung, violin Orchestre Symphonique de Montreal Conductor: Charles Dutoit This is not the smooth-classic type of performance, which is usually associated with these popular concetos, but uncompromisingly intense and passionate reading by young Kyung Wha Chung, digitally recorded in in vivid sound quality.

Mendelssohn was unable to conduct due to illness and the premiere was conducted by the Danish composer Niels Gade. Some notable differences include the tempo character of the first movement being written as " Allegro con fuoco " rather than the commonplace " Allegro molto appassionato " as well as significant alterations of the solo violin's passage-work. The work is scored for solo violin and a standard orchestra of its period, consisting of two flutes , two oboes , two clarinets , two bassoons , two horns , two trumpets , timpani , and strings.

The concerto consists of three movements with the following tempo markings:. Instead of an orchestral tutti , the concerto opens with the almost immediate entry of the solo violin, playing the very tune in E minor that gave Mendelssohn no peace. The opening two themes are then combined in the development section, where the music builds up to the innovative cadenza , which Mendelssohn wrote out in full rather than allowing the soloist to improvise.

During the recapitulation, the opening themes are repeated with the second theme being played in the E major before returning to E minor for the closing of the movement. The music gathers speed into the coda, which is marked "Presto", [15] before a variant of the original chromatic transition passage ends the first movement.

The bassoon sustains its B from the final chord of the first movement before moving up a semitone to middle C. The movement is in ternary form and is reminiscent of Mendelssohn's own Songs Without Words.

The tremulous accompaniment [10] requires nimble dexterity from the soloist before the music returns to the main lyrical C major theme, this time leading towards a serene conclusion. Following the second movement, there is a brief fourteen-bar transitional passage in E minor for solo violin and strings only. The opening exposition leads into a brief second B major [9] theme which is played by the soloist and builds to a series of rapidly ascending and descending arpeggios, reminiscent of the cadenza from the first movement.

The orchestra then plays a variation of the opening melody, after which the music moves into a short development section in G major. The second theme is repeated, this time in the home key of E Major. There is almost a small cadenza near the end of the movement when the woodwinds play the main tune against prolonged trills from the solo violin.

The concerto is innovative in many respects. Monday 11 November Tuesday 12 November Wednesday 13 November Thursday 14 November Friday 15 November Saturday 16 November Sunday 17 November Monday 18 November Tuesday 19 November Wednesday 20 November Thursday 21 November Friday 22 November Saturday 23 November Sunday 24 November Monday 25 November Tuesday 26 November Wednesday 27 November Thursday 28 November Friday 29 November Saturday 30 November Sunday 1 December Monday 2 December Tuesday 3 December Wednesday 4 December Thursday 5 December Friday 6 December Saturday 7 December Sunday 8 December Monday 9 December Tuesday 10 December Wednesday 11 December Thursday 12 December Friday 13 December Saturday 14 December Sunday 15 December Monday 16 December Tuesday 17 December Wednesday 18 December Thursday 19 December Friday 20 December Saturday 21 December Sunday 22 December Monday 23 December

Peter Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35 1. I. Allegro moderato 2. II. Canzonetta. Andante / III. Finale - Allegro vivacissimo Felix Mendelssohn Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64 3. I. Allegro molto appassionato / II. Andante 4. III. Allegretto non troppo - Allegro molto vivace Performers: Kyung Wha Chung, violin Orchestre.

7 thoughts on “I. Allegro Moderato - Kyung-Wha Chung - Tchaïkovsky / Mendelssohn Violin Concertos

  1. Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (Russian: Пётр Ильич Чайковский)(7th May th November ; Old Style 25th April –25th October ) was a Russian reggae.shakalkreemalaramaralsarana.infoinfo wrote some of the world's most popular concert and theatrical music in the current classical repertoire, including the ballets Swan Lake and The Nutcracker, the Overture, his First Piano Concerto, several.
  2. Dec 17,  · Provided to YouTube by Universal Music Group Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto In D, Op, TH. 59 - 1. Allegro moderato · Kyung Wha Chung · Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal · .
  3. Listen to your favorite songs from Tchaikovsky/Sibelius: Violin Concertos by Kyung Wha Chung, London Symphony Orchestra & André Previn Now. Stream ad-free with Amazon Music Unlimited on mobile, desktop, and tablet. Download our mobile app now.
  4. Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto / Bruch: Violin Concerto / Scottish Fantasy, an album by Kyung Wha Chung, Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal, Charles Dutoit, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Rudolf Kempe on Spotify. More by Kyung Wha Chung. Beau Soir - Violin .
  5. Allegro molto vivace by Kyung Wha Chung, Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, Charles Dutoit (track 4) arrangements: Finale from the Cadenza to Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto, op. 1st Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D major, op. I. Allegro moderato () (track 1) Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D major, op. II.
  6. Jan 26,  · Buy The Great Violin Concertos - Kyung Wha Chung by Felix Mendelssohn, Ludwig van Beethoven, Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky, Jean Sibelius, Charles Dutoit, Kyrill Kondrashin, André Previn, Montreal Symphony Orchestra, Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, Kyung-Wha Chung from Amazon's Classical Music Store. Everyday low prices and free delivery on eligible orders/5(13).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *