Bottom - Tool - Undertow

These are the emotions mentioned in the song about hatred, weakness, ugliness, guilt. When confronting these things you find a dark side of yourself, the fearful self. When you remove fear from yourself, you are no longer afraid of yourself, and therefore you step into your full individuality, you finally become who you are. The song sounds dark because of the harsh metal sound, but this only portrays the struggle and frustration, the lyrics also sound harsh but their message is about strengthening your mind and freeing yourself from fear of yourself.

In summary, the whole reason the world is fucked up is because people are afraid of themselves. They may believe they are afraid of other things, but they are actually afraid of themselves because they don't know how to deal with the things they fear, thus they fear themselves, not other things.

When one recognizes their fearful self and eliminate it they become whole and alive, and they become good and strong. The lyrics "naked now, fearless now, nothing now" represent this new becoming. All the bad emotions stemming from the fear are removed, and now there is nothing in the way, and the self which was repressed is bearing itself as a new or 'naked' being.

When Maynard says "shit adds up at the bottom" he means that when one goes to the center of themselves, the part of themselves that is not afraid and pure and happy, you see all the outer layers you have added on to your consciousness, bot the good and the bad, therefore it 'adds up'. You see all of it, and destroy the ones associated with fear and you become new and naked and yourself.

Pretty awesome stuff. To elaborate on some more interesting lyrics: Near the end Maynard talks about being how his fear is naked, because he sees himself and recognizes all of his consciousness, therefore his fear is naked. He eliminates it. When he says at the end that it leaves him 'dead inside', he means that all the fearful energy is gone and dead, and that all the hatred, weakness, ugliness and guilt have kept him alive because he can recognize it and eliminate it by seeing it from 'the bottom' or the core of his consciousness and being.

Flag loverazor on September 22, My Interpretation This is a song I have always loved and respected. To mean it symbolizes I person who has hit the bottom and is talking to their self. Letting them know that all they can do from here is work from their mistakes and build from them.

From decay comes growth only if you allow it. Saturday 30 November Sunday 1 December Monday 2 December Tuesday 3 December Wednesday 4 December Thursday 5 December Friday 6 December Saturday 7 December Sunday 8 December Monday 9 December Tuesday 10 December Wednesday 11 December Thursday 12 December Friday 13 December Saturday 14 December Sunday 15 December Monday 16 December Tuesday 17 December Wednesday 18 December Thursday 19 December Friday 20 December Saturday 21 December Sunday 22 December Monday 23 December Tuesday 24 December Wednesday 25 December Thursday 26 December Friday 27 December Saturday 28 December Sunday 29 December Monday 30 December Tuesday 31 December Wednesday 1 January Thursday 2 January Friday 3 January Saturday 4 January Sunday 5 January Monday 6 January Tuesday 7 January Wednesday 8 January Thursday 9 January Friday 10 January Saturday 11 January Sunday 12 January The ribcage is also on the front cover of the album, but the obese woman is absent from the booklet; only the members of the band are depicted.

Adam Jones ' pet pig, Moe, appears on the back cover [7] amid an array of forks standing on end. AllMusic gave the album a positive review, stating "With its technical brilliance, musical complexities, and aggressive overtones, Undertow not only paved the way for several bands to break through to the mainstream adolescent mall-rage demographic, it also proved that metal could be simultaneously intelligent, emotional, and brutal.

What put this L. In an About. Searching, angry, liberating and scary, Tool's full-length debut emerged during a period in rock music when Seattle bands like Nirvana and Pearl Jam were expressing alienation through grunge riffs, inspiring lots of copycat artists.

Undertow expressed alienation, too, but the album's imposing waves of misery and dread seemed to come from an entirely different planet than grunge, providing a startling counterpoint to the trendy sounds of the era". Which really isn't what we deserve. It also appears as track 39, track 10 mostly in Europe and Australia or as a hidden track following "Flood" on track nine.

On certain Japanese imports, "Disgustipated" is track In all cases, however, it is listed as track 10 on the album itself. From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. The band members' instruments are listed under aliases in the liner notes. Germain [3]. Rolling Stone. Retrieved March 24, Energetic Happy Hypnotic. Romantic Sad Sentimental. Sexy Trippy All Moods. Drinking Hanging Out In Love.

Introspection Late Night Partying. Rainy Day Relaxation Road Trip. Primus , 3Teeth. All Points West. Alternative Nation Festival. Mile High Music Festival. Norwegian Wood. Reading Festival. Street Scene. Voodoo Music Experience. Governors Ball Music Festival. Firenze Rocks. Heitham Al-Sayed. Senser , Lodestar. Joined Tool several times at their concerts in London in and for "Bottom" and "Pushit" and in Paris in for "Opiate". Ozzy Osbourne , Faith No More. Ozzfest at Donington Park in and again during the U.

Get all the lyrics to songs on Undertow and join the Genius community of music scholars to learn the meaning behind the lyrics.

9 thoughts on “Bottom - Tool - Undertow

  1. Tool has won three Grammy Awards, performed worldwide tours, and produced albums topping the charts in several countries. To date, the band has released five studio albums, one EP and one box set. They emerged with a heavy metal sound on their first studio album, Undertow (), and read more.
  2. Swamp Song Lyrics: My warning meant nothing / You're dancing in quicksand / Why don't you watch where you're wandering? / Why don't you watch where you're stumbling? / You're wading knee deep and.
  3. Jul 11,  · Tool (2) Undertow ‎ (CD, Album, RE) Tool Undertow Zoo Entertainment Vinyl, LP, Album, Clear US Killer tracks are the obvious Sober and Bottom although my favorites are the title track and the opener Intolerance. I rate the album as a whole: perfect/5(69).
  4. Tool has won three Grammy Awards, performed worldwide tours, and produced albums topping the charts in several countries. To date, the band has released five studio albums, one EP and one box set. They emerged with a heavy metal sound on their first studio album, Undertow (), and read more.
  5. Undertow is the debut studio album by American rock band Tool, released on April 6, by Zoo reggae.shakalkreemalaramaralsarana.infoinfoed by the band and Sylvia Massy, it was recorded from October to December at Sound City Studios in Van Nuys and Grandmaster Recorders in Hollywood. The album includes some tracks the band decided to not release on their debut EP reggae.shakalkreemalaramaralsarana.infoinfo: Alternative metal, progressive metal.
  6. Jul 11,  · Tool (2) Undertow ‎ (CD, Album, RE) Tool Undertow Zoo Entertainment Vinyl, LP, Album, Clear US Killer tracks are the obvious Sober and Bottom although my favorites are the title track and the opener Intolerance. I rate the album as a whole: perfect/5(69).
  7. Aug 06,  · As far as Tool LP's are concerned I would have Undertow nearer the bottom of the list, but that isn't saying the album is without merit. The front end is ridiculously strong, enough so that the latter half (which always becomes a blur to me) doesn't detract from the strength of those jams/5().

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *